Iceland Airwaves 2016 Daily Blog (11/7): Iceland, You Have My Heart

img_7919This trip has been one for the books. Reykjavík, Iceland is one of the most beautiful cities I’ve ever been to. I’ve been to many different countries in Central America, the Caribbean and Europe, but this one stands out. I first want to start off by saying that the city itself is an incredible destination. The quaint streets, the diverse food, the colorful buildings, and the openness of the people are all things that just scratch the surface of Reykjavík. The most unique part of the city is the music scene. It is its own world–its own awesome hidden gem of music that hasn’t been tarnished by much outside influence. It’s really a pure music scene. My favorite shows over the week were Lára Rúnars and Reykjavíkurdætur, and they are going to be bands that I will listen to for a long, long time. I want to especially thank Lára Rúnars for taking the time to do an interview with me and being an inspiration for women all over the world. To all of our interviewees who took the time to educate us on important topics in Iceland: thank you. You have taught us so much about this amazing country. I also want to thank Iceland Airwaves 2016 for supplying us with this amazing opportunity to hear music that has changed our lives.
Most of all I want to thank our fantastic professor Althea Legaspi for teaching us to be better students, better thinkers, and most importantly better people. She has pushed us in every direction to do what we never thought we could do. We haven’t made it easy on her, but I want to thank her for being patient and not giving up on us.

I also want to talk about the nature excursions we have been on. It is hard for me to describe, but honestly this place is magical. It’s unlike anything I’ve ever seen. Friday was my favorite day. We went to Lagarvatn Fontana, a geothermal spa where we spent time in four different img_8131pools at different ranges of temperatures. We ran into the freezing lake next to the pools, then jumped back into the warm pool, shocking our bodies. This is supposed to be very healthy for you. During this week I have unfortunately had a head cold and congestion, but the warm steam rooms and saunas felt amazing and definitely helped me in the healing process.

After that we went back to Harpa to go on a surprise exhibit tour, The Björk Digital Experience. For someone who has never experienced virtual reality… wow. Björk created a virtual performance where we watched a series of music videos through goggles and headphones. It felt like she was right in front of you while she sang songs from her album Vulnicura StringsYour mind and body were interacting with her and the crazy animation she created for these songs. I’ve never experienced anything like it. The technology was out of this world.

Another one of my favorite things about Iceland is the horses. The next day we went on the Golden Circle tour, where we saw Geysir, Thingvellir National Park and the Gullfoss waterfall. Icelandic horses roamed the fields with sheep. Something interesting about the horses is they are not allowed to be img_8313shipped out of Iceland and no other kind of horse is allowed to be brought to Iceland so the breed stays pure. They are really beautiful. The natural landscape of Iceland blew my mind and I am so happy that I got to see so much of it in the small amount of time that we were here. The Geyser reminded me of Yellowstone, my home in Wyoming. We climbed to the top of a hill to overlook the national park which was beautiful, and the glaciers are something I never get the chance to see. Then we headed to the waterfall, which was my favorite spot. The sound of the waterfall alone was enough. The freezing spray froze my face and hands, a cold but invigorating feeling. The sight was unforgettable and I am determined to make it back here soon.

On our last night, we had drinks at the Reykjavík Marina Hotel where I had one of the best Moscow Mules ever. Then we headed to Agent Fresco at Húrra at 12:20, had one last hot dog  then headed back to the hotel. Lastly I want to thank the class of Airwaves 2016 for experiencing this country together, becoming great friends and a group that will be hard to forget.

This country couldn’t be more beautiful and I cannot wait until my next trip.

This entry was posted in Daily Blog, Iceland Airwaves, Iceland Airwaves 2016 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

