Iceland Airwaves Daily Blog Day Two: Can You Say and Spell Your Name?

Today was much more mellow than yesterday. Although I had a full day of interviews, and then an awesome dinner with the group, I feel fully settled here in Reykjavík already, and it has become my home away from home.

I woke up around 8 a.m. after a night of minimal sleep, and I thought I was in a dream. Nothing really felt real, and I forgot where I was. Also, my room was freezing, so I really did not want to get out of bed. However, the free breakfast buffet was calling my name, so I gathered all of my strength and rolled out of bed.

I had a total of five interviews at the University of Iceland to talk about my two cultural stories, Post-Secondary Education and Parental Leave in Iceland. One of the people I talked to was Steinunn Gestsdóttir, who is a Professor of Psychology, and who recently took parental leave. She told me a lot about why she thinks parental leave is so important for not only mothers and children, but also for fathers.

After my interviews on my walk back to the hotel, I stopped by the pond and got to watch a little girl happily feed the geese and ducks, and it was the sweetest thing.

img_2719-1

To end the day on a high note, we got to grab dinner at Tapas barinn, a tapas restaurant in downtown Reykjavík. Tapas are basically just appetizer-sized plates that you order for the table so everyone can try a little bit of everything. We started out simple with bread, hummus, and tapenade. The tapenade mixed with the hummus was amazing, and we hadn’t even started dinner yet, so I was super excited about the rest of the meal. We were then surprised by a round of shots called Black Death, which is an Icelandic liquor made from cumin and potatoes. This alcohol was so strong and it tasted so gross, but at least I can say I have now officially tried Icelandic booze. Our first course was puffin. That’s right, I ate an endangered animal and I felt like crap about it (but it was still pretty good). The next course was a piece of Arctic Char (a type of fish) on potatoes and salsa, which was easily my second favorite course. The next course was a lamb kebob with a sweet, dark sauce, followed by cod with a creamy, garlic-y, potato sauce and lobster on top. The cod was by far my favorite course, mostly because I have a weakness for garlic. Then we had buttered lobster tails; whale with a sweet potato puree and to top it off, a slice of skýr with passion fruit sorbet.

The food was absolutely amazing, and I think that trying a different country’s cuisine is by far one of the best and easiest ways to really submerge yourself in the culture.

This entry was posted in Daily Blog, Iceland Airwaves, Iceland Airwaves 2016, Iceland Culture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

