Iceland Airwaves Daily Blog Day Two: Interview Day (LISTEN)

After a failed northern lights excursion, we got back to our hotel at around 1:30 a.m. in the morning. I tried to salvage as much rest as I could before having to wake up at 7 to work on some homework before heading for the day to conduct interviews around the city.

I was nervously awaiting this day the entire year–I knew it would be a busy day and I was worried I would show up late or mess something up in some way or another. Luckily it was all smooth sailing. I interviewed a person at the police department, a journalist and member of the multicultural council, the director of LGBT advocate group Samtokin ’78, a professor of middle eastern studies at the University and Iceland, and a lawyer.

20161101_ebb_iceland_01_003

The final story I will be working on is about Muslim xenophobia in Iceland, and how it draws many parallels to that of the United States and the rest of the world. Helga Helgadóttir, a lawyer, said she has seen cases with hate speech dealing with Muslims, but does not like how cases are handled.

I wandered around Reykjavík seeing all different parts of the city. I had time between my first two interviews that I spent walking around to different shops and finding a place to eat–finally settling on a cute little crepe shop. 

After finishing my interviews for the day, I anxiously awaited our group dinner at Tapas Barinn. Before meeting there with whole group, a couple of us went out early and walked around, looking at different shops downtown. We happened upon a beautiful and daunting candy shop and even found some polar bears to pose with.

20161101_ebb_iceland_01_050

Dinner time came and we all were seated in a dimly lit restaurant and were treated to a seven course meal. SEVEN! Our main courses were: puffin, arctic char with potatoes and red pepper salsa, lamb kebob, cod with creamy potato/garlic sauce & lobster, lobster tails, whale with sweet potato purée, skyr & passion fruit sorbet. (I had a tiny bite of the puffin, whale, and lobster and then gave up my food to someone else). The arctic char was my favorite (potatoes and red peppers were a huge plus). Skyr, an Icelandic yogurt-type product, was also amazing and a perfect way to close the meal.

I am looking forward to more great meals, exploring and ICELAND AIRWAVES!

About Erin Brown

Columbia College Chicago multimedia photojournalism major. Photo editor at the Columbia Chronicle. Concert photographer for Music Existence and former contributing writer for Atwood Magazine.
This entry was posted in Daily Blog, Iceland Airwaves, Iceland Airwaves 2016, Iceland Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

