Iceland Airwaves Daily Blog Day Two (11/1)

Day two in Iceland, this time it wasn’t just all fun and games. Even though I did spend the day interviewing some pretty amazing people, which made all the work for the day fun.

Starting off the morning speaking with Ólöf Ýrr Atladóttir a Director General for the Icelandic Tourism Board about Iceland’s tourism industry’s growth compared to other industries. She was amazing to talk with and gave me even a greater insight about Iceland that you cannot getimg_8929 off Google. From there it was a stroll around a pond, walk over a bridge, and getting lost inside University of Iceland’s Social Sciences building to speak with Dr. Sigrún Júlíusdóttir, who’s a professor at University of Iceland and an expert on marriages in Iceland. The interview lasted so long it, even turning into an amazing conversation from how amazing it was speaking with her.

Right after that I was able to speak with Freydís Jóna Freysteinsdóttir, who is also professor at the University of Iceland teaching social work, also speaking with me on family theory in Iceland. The fact she even came in when she techniquely didn’t even have to because she can easily work from home, and spent almost an hour speaking with me, not to mention how well researched she was I couldn’t have asked for a better interview.
Onto the next interview I was able to walk throughout the street of Laugavegur, which has the cutest shops! I was so tempted to go inside but going from 101 to 105 in Reykjavik isn’t that bad but when your timed it’s not that easy.

 

These interviews today are going to be in stories we’ll be producing for our Iceland class. One being about the main industries in Iceland, mainly the tourism aspect of things and how it continues to grow over the other industries. Then a second one being about Icelandic marriages and family life that are changing in Iceland. Here’s a little teaser of what to expect in the second story from Dr. Sigrún Júlíusdóttir:

Best part of the day though is defiantly the most interesting dinner I had ever had in my life. You know that saying “try everything once”? That defiantly applied to tonight’s dinner. Also being the first time I have ever tried tapas, which is 7 total appetizer meals. We went to Tapas Barinn starting off with some bread, that was delicious, with tapas and hummus spread to add on top. Being probably one ore the more normal things of the night. What we tried next was Smoked puffin with blueberry “brennivín” sauce, I cannot say that it was entirely good, but I cannot say it was entirely bad. Just remember don’t knock it till you try it. Now I’m not a fan of fish in any way, I just never liked it. But the Icelandic sea-trout with peppers-salsa was probably one of the most delicious things I had ever tasted. Which could be because it didn’t taste like fish at all and I didn’t know what it was before making a bite. Being a major meat eater the next dish, Grilled Icelandic lamb Samfaina, was the best lamb I’ve had in a long time.

Unfortunately the next dish was fish again, and as I’ve said I don’t like fish, so I cannot state a non-bias comment on if it was good or not, it was Pan-fried line caught blue ling with lobster sauce. My favorite dish was the best, not only because it tasted really good , but because it was lobster tails which is my favorite. Our final meal before desert looked like steak but the kicker was that it wasn’t, it was Minke Whale, Now that is something I thought I would never say I was gonna try, I didn’t even honestly know it was edible. But it honestly wasn’t too bad, it had the texture of steak but the taste of fish slowly began to chew the more you ate. The sweet potato purée was the only thing that helped with that fishy after taste. Not only did that get the taste out of my mouth, but the White chocolate “Skýr” mousse with passion coulis, defiantly left the most delicious taste in my mouth at the end of that night.
Dinner was just the icing on the cake for a day of running around Reykjavík all day.

This entry was posted in Daily Blog, Iceland Airwaves, Iceland Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

