Iceland Airwaves Day Six: See you later, Iceland!

IMG_0901

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today was our last full day hanging out in Reykjavík. After an afternoon of writing and planning our final Iceland Airwaves documentary, the eight of us went out for dinner at Tapas, a restaurant that serves Icelandic foods with a Spanish twist. We ate really odd foods there that you would never be able to get in the United States. We had puffin, whale, lamb, and even kangaroo. Some of the small dishes I enjoyed, and others I didn’t like at all but now I can say I’ve at least tried them. I have to say though, the kangaroo was pretty dope.

After we left the Tapas restaurant, we walked back to the IcelandAir Reykjavík Marina to prepare for our trip to the countryside to try and catch a glimpse of the Northern Lights. I had high hopes for this excursion. The sky had been relatively clear all day long which is what you need if you hope to see the lights and after seeing them last night from inside the city, I was sure getting away from the city lights was going to pay off. We got on a bus and travelled about an hour northwest of Reykjavík. When we stepped out into the dark field and looked and saw… clouds. But the Northern Lights were out and some of the better cameras were able to catch a little bit of their beauty.

After the Northern Lights, the entire class got together to celebrate one last night in this beautiful Icelandic city. If you would have told me a year ago that I was going to Iceland Airwaves, I would have thought you were crazy. This was my first trip out of the United States and while I always dreamed of travelling to another country, I never thought I would actually do it. Let alone travel to Iceland to cover a music featival!

There is a long list of people I would like to thank for making this week so unforgettable! Thank you to Sigriður Ingibjörg Ingadóttir, Ingólfur Gíalason, Kristín Ástgeirsdóttir, Bryndis Björgvinsdóttir, and Björn Teitsson for being so generous and agreeing to spend your time with me, teaching me about Icelandic culture. Thank you to the IcelandAir Reykjavík Marina for allowing us to use your beautiful hotel as a meeting place and office space during the week. Thank you to Reykjavík Excursions for carting the seven of us around Iceland multiple times. And of course, thank you to our teacher Althea Legaspi for planning this trip for us and for working so hard to mold us into great writers!

See you later, Iceland!

This entry was posted in Daily Blog, Iceland Airwaves, Iceland Airwaves 2015 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

