Iceland Airwaves Daily Blog Day Four: Golden Circle Mermaids

IMG_0419

I’m beginning to understand why Iceland is known for it’s “hidden people.” The landscape here fits the magical feeling of elves, fairies, trolls, and mermaids. Today I explored. I climbed on rocks, and felt water, and stood in the rain. 

The rain is supposed to have some sort of baptismal affect on people. I’m not sure it it’s true or not but standing in the rain sure made me feel small. I am so small in the larger scheme of the world, but sometimes while you feel small you realize the large affects you have on other people. The things you do or say to others matter, even if you think they don’t. The comment you make to someone can echo within them for weeks.

I think the Golden Falls, Golfuss, will be echoing within me for weeks. The sheer size of it, and how fast the water rushed reminded me of Chicago on a busy night. It was people running back and forth across Clark Street. It was Icelandic mermaids hidden underneath waves, wishing we would just tip our toes into the water.

IMG_0349 (2)

I can see grass people here. I can feel how vast the world is, and how small I am compared to it. I am okay feeling small. I understand that I came from dust, and at one point I will return to it. I am okay that I do not have the answer to if there are elves in Iceland. I think I like that I don’t know the answer. But one thing I can say for certain is there are Icelandic mermaids, there has to be.

This entry was posted in Daily Blog, Iceland Airwaves, Iceland Airwaves 2015 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

